Buying guide
Large Wall Folding Tables: 47 Inches and Up
Large wall folding tables in our data are 47 to 60 inches wide. The only one with maker data is the Lifetime 80421 work table, a 47 x 23.3 inch surface on legs, designed for 16-inch studs. For a long indoor desk or folding surface, the Need, Neoaider and GOYLSER tops are about 47 x 20 inches, with seller data only – and the Need listing is the one that says it must go into studs.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The short version
If you want a large top with maker data, take the Lifetime 80421: 47 x 23.3 inches on fold-down legs, 150 lb on the Home Depot sheet, built for 16-inch studs. For indoor use, the Need 47.2 x 19.7 (100 lb, studs required per listing), Neoaider 47.2 x 19.7 (180 lb, no wall named) and GOYLSER 47 x 20.5 are seller data only. SafeRacks sells 48- and 60-inch benches.

The large top with maker data
Lifetime 80421
A wall cabinet with pegboards whose work top folds down onto two legs, at a height you set once when mounting.
Why here: The only top of 47 inches or more in our data with a maker page and a manual – and with legs, so the wall does not carry the front edge alone.
Best for: A garage wall that should hold tools and a full-size work table
- Lifetime: designed to fit 16-inch wall stud spacing
- Fold-down legs carry the front of the top
- Interior and exterior pegboards with 30 hooks (Lifetime)
- 150 lb capacity on the Home Depot spec sheet
- Premium price class
- Heavy unit (Home Depot lists 95 lb) – two people for mounting
- Built for 16-in studs; a 24-in wall needs a different plan
- Work height is fixed by the bracket position once mounted (manual)
- Type
- Wall cabinet with fold-down top and legs
- Top size
- 47 x 23.3 in work surface (Home Depot)
- Load rating
- 150 lb (Home Depot spec sheet)
- Mounting
- Fits 16-in stud spacing (Lifetime)
- Work height
- Fixed at mounting: 36 in with the bracket at 60¾ in; bracket range 58¾–67 in (Lifetime manual)
- Frame
- Powder-coated steel, wood top
Most long fold-down tops are sold with seller data only. The exception is the Lifetime 80421: a powder-coated steel wall cabinet with pegboards whose wood work surface folds down onto two legs. Lifetime designed it to fit 16-inch wall stud spacing; the work surface is 47 x 23.3 inches and the capacity 150 lb on the Home Depot spec sheet. The catch for a house rather than a garage: the manual sets the top at a 36-inch counter height when the mounting bracket sits 60¾ inches up, and the height is fixed once the bracket is on the wall. All details are on the Lifetime work table page.
For a seated desk, a laundry folding surface or a long kitchen ledge, the tops below fit better – with the caveat that we could read only their Amazon listings.
Which large table for which job?
Pick by situation
If you want a garage bench with legs and tool storage on 16-inch studs → Lifetime 80421
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a 4-foot indoor top whose listing insists on studs → Need 47 x 20 · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a long white top with a button release → Neoaider 47.2 x 19.7 · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you need 5 feet of workbench → SafeRacks 60 in · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you need something heavier than any of these
Large tops compared
| Comparison | Premium pickLifetime 80421 | Seller data onlyNeed 47 x 20 | Seller data onlyNeoaider 47.2 x 19.7 | Seller data onlyGOYLSER 47 x 20.5 | Seller data onlySafeRacks 60 in |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Wall cabinet with fold-down top and legs | Fold-down wall table | Top on folding steel brackets (listing) | Fold-down wall table (listing) | Folding workbench (listing) |
| Top size | 47 x 23.3 in work surface (Home Depot) | 47 x 20 in (listing title; details 47.2 x 19.7 in) | 47.2 x 19.7 in (listing) | 47 x 20.5 in (listing) | 60 in wide (listing) |
| Load rating (as stated) | 150 lb (Home Depot spec sheet) | 100 lb (listing) | 180 lb max recommendation (listing) | – | – |
| Mounting (as stated) | Fits 16-in stud spacing (Lifetime) | Wall studs required (listing) | Six screws into the wall; studs not mentioned (listing) | – | – |
| Folded depth | – | 1 3/4 in (listing) | – | – | – |
| Best for | A garage wall that should hold tools and a full-size work table | Long walls where two people sit side by side or laundry is folded | Long walls where a 4-foot surface is needed for a desk, crafts or laundry | Long laundry walls with a warm wood look | Long garage walls with at least four studs in reach |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
| Table | Size | Load figure | Mounting stated | Unit weight | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lifetime 80421 | 47 x 23.3 in, on legs | 150 lb | 16-in studs | about 95 lb | Lifetime, Home Depot sheet |
| Need | 47.2 x 19.7 in | 100 lb | studs required on drywall | 28.2 lb | listing |
| Neoaider | 47.2 x 19.7 in | 180 lb max recommendation | six screws, studs not mentioned | 12.3 lb | listing |
| GOYLSER | 47 x 20.5 in | not stated | supporting strips on drywall | not stated | listing |
| SafeRacks | 48 or 60 in | 500 lb | 3-in lag screws | 40 lb | listing |
| 48 x 16 fold-down desk | 48 x 16 in | not stated | not stated | not stated | listing |
The tables one by one
Need 47.2 x 19.7 in – the listing that asks for studs
The Need listing describes a 47.2 x 19.7 inch counter on 14-gauge powder-coated steel, 1 3/4 inches thick when folded, with a 100 lb capacity. It is also the clearest about the wall: “Anchors alone are not sufficient for drywall installation; mounting onto wall studs is required.” That makes it our first choice among the seller-data tables for a long desk or laundry surface. Need 47 x 20 folding table*.
Neoaider 47.2 x 19.7 in – long, light, higher figure
The same size as the Need, in coated MDF on folding steel brackets, with a button release and a spirit level in the box, according to the listing. Its details table gives a 180 lb maximum weight recommendation and the bullets say “just six screws need to be inserted on the wall” – no word on studs. Read the 180 lb as the seller's figure on a sound wall, not as what your fixing can take; the reasons are under weight capacity.
GOYLSER 47 x 20.5 in – rustic brown
The GOYLSER listing names FSC-certified wood materials and a rustic brown finish and gives no load figure. For drywall it tells buyers to use supporting strips so that both brackets can be screwed in – in effect a ledger board. It suits a long laundry wall; more options for that room are on the laundry room page.
SafeRacks 48 or 60 in – the longest bench
The SafeRacks listing offers 48- and 60-inch versions with a solid hardwood top, steel folding brackets with a slow-close mechanism and heat-treated 3-inch lag screws, and states 500 lb. We could not read a SafeRacks spec sheet for this model, so the 500 lb has no wall or test basis we can check. It is a garage bench; the garage workbench comparison puts it next to VIVO and Lifetime.
48 x 16 in fold-down desk – wide but shallow
An unbranded 48 x 16 inch desk top, according to the listing. At 16 inches deep it holds a laptop and papers; check that a monitor fits.
What changes when the top gets long
More studs, but only if the brackets meet them. Wood studs are 16 or 24 inches on center (IRC Table R602.3(5)). A long top crosses several studs, yet each bracket still has to land on a stud center. On 24-inch walls, or with a bracket spacing that does not match, a ledger board screwed into the studs carries the brackets. Try your width and spacing:
Stud span check
Enter the width of the top and the stud spacing of your wall.
Depending on where you place it, the top spans 1 to 2 studs.
Fewer than two studs are guaranteed: plan a ledger board that spans at least two studs.
Pure geometry from the stud spacing. Find the actual studs in your wall with a stud finder before drilling.
Weight on your arms. The Lifetime unit weighs about 95 lb, SafeRacks lists 40 lb and the Need 28.2 lb. Lifetime's manual asks for two adults; with any 4-foot top, a second person holding it level while you drive the first screws makes the job safer.
Sag along the length. A long top on two brackets has more span between its supports. If yours bends or rocks later, the page on why a fold-down table sags or wobbles goes through causes and fixes.
Seating. A 47-inch top seats two side by side, not four. The page on table sizes explains how much edge and depth each person needs.
Typical mistakes
- Trusting the biggest number. 180 lb or 500 lb without a wall type says nothing about your studs or anchors.
- Placing the table by the room, not by the studs. Find the studs first, then decide where a 4-foot top can go.
- Forgetting the fold. A 20-inch-deep top hangs down about as far when folded; keep it clear of outlets and machines.
Table picker
Question 1 of 4
Where will the table go?
Verdict
For a large top you can rely on, the Lifetime 80421 is the only one with maker data, but it is a counter-height garage unit for 16-inch studs. For a long desk or laundry surface in the house, start with the Need 47 x 20, whose listing at least requires studs, and mount it on studs or a ledger board. All other sizes are on the homepage and in the table size guide.
Questions people ask
What is the largest wall-mounted folding table?
In our data, the SafeRacks bench, which its listing offers in 48 and 60 inches. Among tables for the house, the longest tops are about 47 inches: Need 47.2 x 19.7, Neoaider 47.2 x 19.7 and GOYLSER 47 x 20.5, all according to their listings. Larger surfaces mean a DIY top on folding brackets.
Can a large wall folding table seat four?
Not in our data. A wall table has one long side against the wall, so a 47-inch top seats two people side by side at most. The page on table sizes explains how much edge each diner needs. For four people, a freestanding table is the realistic choice.
How many studs does a 47-inch table need?
It depends on the bracket spacing, not only the width. Studs are 16 or 24 inches on center, and what counts is whether each bracket meets a stud center; the stud check on this page shows it for your wall. If not, a ledger board across the studs carries the brackets.
Sources
Keep reading
- ExplainerSizesWall folding table sizes explained: which depth fits one plate or two, how much edge each diner needs by NKBA guidelines, and the floor space to leave in front.
- Buying guideHeavy dutyHeavy-duty wall-mounted folding tables rated 100 lb and more, sorted by who stands behind the figure – maker, spec sheet or listing – and the wall each assumes.
- Buying guideLaundry roomWall-mounted laundry folding tables compared: long fold-down tops for the laundry room, what the load ratings mean, mounting height and stud fixing.
- TroubleshootingSags or wobblesWhy a wall-mounted folding table sags, wobbles or will not lock – loose screws, a missed stud, a half-engaged latch or too much load – and how to fix each cause.
- Question & answerAre Studs 16 or 24 Inches Apart, and How Does That Limit Where Your Table Can Go?Wood studs can be 16 or 24 inches on center. What the residential code table says, how to measure your wall and when a fold-down table needs a ledger board.
- Buying guideGarage workbenchWall-mounted folding workbenches for the garage compared: VIVO, Lifetime and long benches by size, stated load rating, wall type and stud spacing.
Who writes here
wallmountedfoldingtable.com Editorial Team
Fold-down tables, desks & workbenches
We are the editorial team at wallmountedfoldingtable.com. We compare maker spec sheets, manuals, retailer data, building codes and anchor data for wall-mounted folding tables and turn them into plain-English advice – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests or load tests, and we say so openly.
- Maker specs, manuals & codes compared
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint