Buying guide
Folding Shelf Brackets for a DIY Fold-Down Table: Length, Load Rating and Studs
Folding shelf brackets are hinged steel arms that hold a top level when open and fold down flat with it. Choose an arm length close to the depth of your top, read the load figure exactly as printed – no listing in our data says whether it is per bracket or per pair – and screw every bracket into a stud. None of the brackets has maker data we could read, so we show the options by length without a single pick.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The short version
Pick the arm length by the depth of your top: about 12 inches for shallow ledges, 16 inches for 16- to 18-inch tops, 24 inches for 20- to 24-inch tops (rule of thumb). Bracket listings print figures such as 440 lb without saying per bracket or per pair, or for which wall. Space the brackets so each one lands on a stud, 16 or 24 inches on center.

Why there is no single pick on this page
Folding shelf brackets are sold almost entirely by sellers without a maker spec sheet. The listings give a length, a material and often a large load figure, but no wall type and no statement whether the figure is per bracket or per pair. We recommend a product only where we could read the maker's own data. So this page sorts the brackets by length and shows what each listing claims, marked “Seller data only”. If you would rather buy a top with maker data, the ready-made options are further down.
How folding brackets work
A folding bracket has two parts: a plate that is screwed to the wall and an arm that carries the top. When you lift the top, the arm swings out and locks; to fold the table away, you release the lock and the arm folds down flat against the wall with the top hanging in front of it. Two brackets carry one top. The whole load of the open top goes through the brackets and their screws into the wall, and the front edge of the top acts as a lever: the further out the weight sits, the harder the upper screws are pulled out of the wall.
Which length for which top
There is no published standard for bracket length. The table below is a rule of thumb based on the use the sellers name for each length. A real example of the ratio: VIVO puts 15.4-inch brackets under the 18-inch-deep top of its folding workbench.
| Bracket length | Top depth it suits (rule of thumb) | Typical use |
|---|---|---|
| 10 in | up to about 12 in | plant ledges, narrow shelves, small bench seats |
| 12 in | about 12 to 14 in | shallow ledges, bench seats |
| 16 in | about 16 to 18 in | laundry top, desk, breakfast ledge |
| 24 in | about 20 to 24 in | dining top, deep workbench |
A shorter arm under a deeper top leaves more overhang and more leverage. The deepest top for two in our comparison, the COSTWAY drop-leaf, is 23.5 inches deep; a DIY top of that depth calls for 24-inch brackets.
Load ratings as printed
| Bracket | Printed figure | Per bracket or per pair? | Wall named? |
|---|---|---|---|
| CLT 24 in, stainless, pair | 440 lb max | not stated | on studs (listing) |
| 12 in stainless, pair | 330 lb max | not stated | no |
| Storystore 10 in, stainless | 550 lb (title) | not stated | no |
| Sumnacon 10 in, black | 132 lb (title) | not stated | no |
| Wallmaster 24 in | 500 lb at retailers | not stated | no |
| 16 in stainless, 24 in steel | none in our data | – | no |
Read these figures as the seller's claim for the steel on a perfect wall. They do not tell you what your table can hold. A 10-inch bracket with a “550 lb” title is still far too short for a table top. Why the wall fixing usually limits the load first is explained on the page about weight capacity.
The brackets in our data
| Comparison | Seller data onlyCLT 24 in Brackets | Seller data onlyWallmaster 24 in Brackets | Seller data only24 in Steel Brackets | Seller data only16 in Stainless Brackets | Seller data only12 in Stainless Brackets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Folding shelf brackets, 2 pcs | Folding shelf brackets | Folding shelf brackets | Folding shelf brackets, 2 pcs | Folding shelf brackets, 2 pcs |
| Top size | 24 in (listing) | 24 in (listing) | 24 in (listing) | 16 in (listing) | 12 in (listing) |
| Load rating (as stated) | 440 lb max (listing) | – | – | – | 330 lb max (listing) |
| Mounting (as stated) | On studs (listing) | – | – | – | – |
| Folded depth | – | – | – | – | – |
| Best for | Building your own 20 to 24 in deep fold-down table or workbench | Deep DIY workbench tops in a garage | Deep DIY tops where stainless is not needed | 16 to 18 in deep tops: laundry, desk or breakfast ledge | Shallow ledges, bench seats and 12 to 14 in deep tops |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
24-inch brackets for dining tops and benches
The CLT 24 in pair is brushed stainless steel; its listing is the only one in our data that tells buyers to mount the brackets on studs. The Wallmaster 24 in brackets come from a brand that also sells complete fold-down workbenches; we found no maker spec sheet. The plain 24 in steel pair is the simplest option, with no load figure in our data. All three suit a top of about 20 to 24 inches.
16- and 12-inch brackets for ledges, desks and laundry tops
The 16 in stainless pair comes with screws. Those screws are not a substitute for fasteners matched to your wall. The 12 in stainless pair suits shallow ledges and bench seats; it is too short for a dining-depth top.
10-inch brackets: shelves, not tables
The Sumnacon 10 in brackets* and the Storystore 10 in brackets* are made for narrow shelves and small bench seats. With 10-inch arms, neither is a base for a table top.
Studs, spacing and screws
Land every bracket on a stud. Wood studs are 16 or 24 inches on center, depending on stud size and load (IRC Table R602.3(5)). The brackets of one top must therefore sit 16, 32 or 48 inches apart on a 16-inch wall, or 24 or 48 inches apart on a 24-inch wall. Find the studs first, then choose the width of the top so it overhangs the brackets evenly.
No stud where you need it? Screw a horizontal ledger board across at least two studs and fix the brackets to the ledger. The guide on how to install a wall-mounted folding table walks through stud finding, ledger and masonry, and the question can you mount a folding table on drywall without studs explains why hollow-wall anchors are a poor substitute.
Screws. Use screws and anchors that suit your wall and the bracket holes. For brick and concrete, follow the anchor maker's data. If you are unsure about your wall or the fastener, ask a contractor before you load the table.
Mounting height
For a dining or desk top, the top edge belongs at about 29 to 30 inches above the floor; the 2010 ADA Standards set 28 to 34 inches for dining and work surfaces (section 902.3). The brackets sit below the top, so subtract the top thickness and the bracket geometry from the top edge. The guide to mounting height shows the calculation.
Rather buy a ready-made top?
VIVO 43 x 18 Workbench
A 43-inch workbench top on steel brackets that folds to 2.3 inches from the wall.
Why here: The same principle as a DIY bracket table – a top on folding steel brackets – but with a 43 x 18 inch top, 110 lb and the wall types stated by the maker.
Best for: Garages and basements with wood studs, brick or concrete walls
- VIVO names the wall types: wood stud, brick or concrete
- 110 lb capacity stated by the maker
- Folds to 2.3 in from the wall
- 3-year warranty (VIVO)
- Particle board top – not for wet work or heavy pounding
- Type
- Top on folding steel brackets
- Top size
- 43.3 x 18 x 1 in
- Load rating
- 110 lb (VIVO)
- Mounting
- Wood stud, brick or concrete (VIVO)
- Folded depth
- 2.3 in (VIVO)
- Warranty
- 3 years (VIVO)
If you need a deeper or longer workbench, the garage workbench guide compares ready-made benches. For a kitchen top for two, the COSTWAY drop-leaf table in our comparison of wall-mounted folding tables is the better choice than a DIY build.
Pick by situation
If you want a ready-made top with maker data on folding steel brackets → VIVO 43 x 18 Workbench
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a dining table for two that folds flat → COSTWAY Drop-Leaf 31.5 x 23.5
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want to build a deep garage bench
Typical mistakes
- Brackets too short for the top. A 12-inch bracket under a 24-inch top leaves half the depth unsupported.
- Brackets between studs. Plan the bracket spacing around the studs, not around the middle of the top.
- Reading the printed figure as per bracket. The listings do not say; assume the lower reading.
- Trusting the supplied screws. Match the fasteners to your wall.
Table picker
Question 1 of 4
Where will the table go?
Verdict
For a DIY fold-down top, choose the bracket length by the depth of the top, plan the spacing on your studs, and treat every printed load figure as unverified. For deep dining tops and benches that means 24-inch brackets; for laundry and desk tops 16-inch ones. If you would rather rely on maker data, buy a ready-made table instead. More guides start on the homepage.
Questions people ask
Is a folding bracket's load rating per bracket or per pair?
The listings in our data do not say. The CLT 24-inch pair prints “max. load 440 lb”, a 12-inch stainless pair 330 lb, a 10-inch pair 550 lb in its title – none of them states per bracket or per pair, and none names a wall. Assume the lower reading, and remember that the studs and screws behind the bracket usually limit the load before the steel does.
What length of folding shelf brackets do I need for a 24-inch-deep fold-down table?
As a rule of thumb, use brackets close to the depth of the top – for a 24-inch top, 24-inch brackets, or 20 inches at the least. We found no independent rule for this. A shorter arm leaves more of the top overhanging, and an overhanging front edge increases the leverage on the top screws. For comparison, VIVO puts 15.4-inch brackets under its 18-inch-deep workbench top.
Can folding brackets go on drywall without studs?
Not for a table top that people lean on or load. The CLT bracket listing tells buyers to mount the brackets on studs. If the studs do not sit where you want the brackets, screw a ledger board across at least two studs and fix the brackets to the ledger. Hollow-wall anchors carry far less than their headline figure: TOGGLER's sheet notes that industry standards recommend one quarter of the ultimate test load.
Sources
- VIVO: Wall Mounted 43 x 18 inch Folding Workbench, MOUNT-SF1FB (maker page, bracket and top dimensions)
- 2012 Seattle Residential Code, Chapter 6, Table R602.3(5) Size, height and spacing of wood studs (IRC-based)
- TOGGLER: SNAPTOGGLE technical bulletin (ultimate loads, 1/4 working-load note)
- U.S. Access Board: 2010 ADA Standards, 902.3 Height of dining and work surfaces
Keep reading
- Buying guideGarage workbenchWall-mounted folding workbenches for the garage compared: VIVO, Lifetime and long benches by size, stated load rating, wall type and stud spacing.
- How-toHow to installInstall a wall-mounted folding table safely: find the studs, mark the top edge, drill per the manual and use a ledger board when the brackets miss a stud.
- ExplainerWeight capacityHow much weight a wall-mounted folding table can hold: maker load ratings from 33 to 150 lb, what the wall and anchors add, and why leverage limits the load.
- ExplainerMounting heightWall-mounted folding table height: 28 to 34 inches for dining and desks per ADA 902.3, IKEA's bar heights, and why laundry height has no official number.
- ComparisonAll tables comparedThe best wall-mounted folding tables, desks and workbenches side by side: top size, load rating with the mounting it assumes, folded depth and maker sources.
Who writes here
wallmountedfoldingtable.com Editorial Team
Fold-down tables, desks & workbenches
We are the editorial team at wallmountedfoldingtable.com. We compare maker spec sheets, manuals, retailer data, building codes and anchor data for wall-mounted folding tables and turn them into plain-English advice – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests or load tests, and we say so openly.
- Maker specs, manuals & codes compared
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint