Skip to content
Foldwall Guidewallmountedfoldingtable.com

Brand

Ryobi Stowaway Wall-Mounted Workbench: Specs and Amazon Alternatives

The Ryobi Stowaway (model STM408) is a wall-mounted folding workbench with a 44 x 22 inch solid wood surface, rated up to 300 lb by Ryobi. Ryobi's page does not say how it mounts, which wall the rating assumes or how far it stands off the wall folded. If you want a bench whose maker names the wall, the VIVO 43 x 18 is our pick; for storage and legs, the Lifetime 80421.

by the editorial team updated October 22, 2026 5 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The short version

Ryobi's Stowaway STM408 offers a 44 x 22 inch solid wood top, up to 300 lb, a one-handed auto lock, soft-close folding, a 5-inch shelf and a security pin. Its page names no mounting method or wall type. Alternatives on Amazon: VIVO 43 x 18 (110 lb on wood stud, brick or concrete per VIVO), Lifetime 80421 (legs, 16-in studs), or deeper 47 x 22 inch benches with seller data.

What's on this page
Garage wall with a plywood workbench top open on black metal brackets, a hammer, clamp and tape measure on it and a pegboard with tools above
Image: AI-generated (OpenAI)

What Ryobi states about the Stowaway

Ryobi lists the Stowaway Wall Mounted Workbench as model STM408 on its own website, in its wall-storage range. According to that page:

ItemRyobi's statement
Work surface44 x 22 in, solid wood
Load capacityup to 300 lb
Openingone-handed auto lock
Closingsoft-close, two-handed release
Storagebuilt-in 5-inch shelf, usable when the bench is stowed
Securityintegrated security pin locks the bench in position

What the page leaves open: the folded depth, the unit weight, the mounting method, the wall types and the stud spacing the bench is made for. The page we read lists no further specifications, and Ryobi points to its support site for manuals; we could not open an STM408 manual. Before you buy, ask Ryobi which wall and fasteners the 300 lb assumes – a load rating is the maker's figure on a sound wall with the stated mounting, and here no mounting is stated.

Strengths and weak points

Reasons to buy

  • A 22-inch-deep solid wood top – deeper than most fold-down benches in our data
  • 300 lb rating from the maker itself, not from a listing title
  • Soft-close folding and a lock pin, according to Ryobi
  • A shelf that stays usable when the bench is folded

Reasons to skip

  • No mounting method, wall type or stud spacing on Ryobi's page
  • No folded depth or unit weight published
  • Not in our Amazon data, so no comparison of the actual hardware
  • A deep top means more leverage on the wall screws

Alternatives on Amazon

Pick by situation

  1. If you want the maker to name the wall: wood stud, brick or concrete → VIVO 43 x 18 Workbench

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  2. If you want legs under the front edge and pegboard storage on 16-inch studs → Lifetime 80421

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  3. If you want about the Stowaway's depth → Heavy Duty Workbench 47 x 22 · Seller data only

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  4. If you need 5 feet of bench → SafeRacks 60 in · Seller data only

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Comparison: VIVO 43 x 18 Workbench, Lifetime 80421, Heavy Duty Workbench 47 x 22, TORACK 47.25 x 22.75, SafeRacks 60 in
ComparisonOur garage pickVIVO 43 x 18 WorkbenchPremium pickLifetime 80421Seller data onlyHeavy Duty Workbench 47 x 22Seller data onlyTORACK 47.25 x 22.75Seller data onlySafeRacks 60 in
TypeTop on folding steel bracketsWall cabinet with fold-down top and legsFolding workbench (listing)Folding workbench (listing)Folding workbench (listing)
Top size43.3 x 18 x 1 in47 x 23.3 in work surface (Home Depot)47 x 22 in (listing)47.25 x 22.75 in (listing)60 in wide (listing)
Load rating (as stated)110 lb (VIVO)150 lb (Home Depot spec sheet)–550 lb claimed in title (listing)–
Mounting (as stated)Wood stud, brick or concrete (VIVO)Fits 16-in stud spacing (Lifetime)–––
Folded depth2.3 in (VIVO)––––
Best forGarages and basements with wood studs, brick or concrete wallsA garage wall that should hold tools and a full-size work tableGarages that need a deeper top than 18 inchesGarages that need depth for larger projectsLong garage walls with at least four studs in reach
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Figures as stated by the manufacturer or seller – load ratings assume a sound wall and the stated mounting. Swipe sideways on a phone.
BenchTopLoad figureMounting statedSource
Ryobi Stowaway STM40844 x 22 in, solid woodup to 300 lbnot statedRyobi
VIVO MOUNT-SF1FB43.3 x 18 in110 lbwood stud, brick, concreteVIVO
Lifetime 8042147 x 23.3 in, on legs150 lb16-in studsLifetime, Home Depot sheet
Unbranded heavy-duty bench47 x 22 innot confirmednot statedlisting
TORACK47.25 x 22.75 in550 lb title claimnot statedlisting
SafeRacks48 or 60 in, solid hardwood500 lb3-in lag screwslisting

VIVO 43 x 18 – the bench whose maker names the wall

Our garage pickVIVO
Ad

VIVO 43 x 18 Workbench

A 43-inch workbench top on steel brackets that folds to 2.3 inches from the wall.

Why here: VIVO states 110 lb together with the wall types – wood stud, brick or concrete – and a folded depth of 2.3 inches.

Best for: Garages and basements with wood studs, brick or concrete walls

  • VIVO names the wall types: wood stud, brick or concrete
  • 110 lb capacity stated by the maker
  • Folds to 2.3 in from the wall
  • 3-year warranty (VIVO)
  • Particle board top – not for wet work or heavy pounding
Type
Top on folding steel brackets
Top size
43.3 x 18 x 1 in
Load rating
110 lb (VIVO)
Mounting
Wood stud, brick or concrete (VIVO)
Folded depth
2.3 in (VIVO)
Warranty
3 years (VIVO)
View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more

Smaller than the Stowaway – 43.3 x 18 x 1 inches, particle board on steel brackets – and rated lower, but VIVO says what the rating assumes. It folds to 2.3 inches from the wall and carries a 3-year warranty, according to VIVO.

Lifetime 80421 – legs and storage

Lifetime designed this wall cabinet to fit 16-inch stud spacing. Its wood work surface folds down onto two legs, and pegboards with 30 hooks sit behind it. The manual sets the top at 36 inches with the mounting bracket 60¾ inches up, and the height is fixed once the bracket is on the wall. Details on the Lifetime work table page.

47 x 22 and TORACK – the same depth, seller data only

The unbranded heavy-duty bench and the TORACK 47.25 x 22.75* come closest to the Stowaway's 22-inch depth. Neither has a maker spec sheet we could read; TORACK's 550 lb is a title claim without wall or fastener details.

SafeRacks 48 or 60 in – longer than the Stowaway

The SafeRacks listing names a solid hardwood top, slow-close steel brackets, heat-treated 3-inch lag screws and 500 lb. We could not read a SafeRacks spec sheet for it.

Mounting any of these benches

Wood studs are 16 or 24 inches on center (IRC Table R602.3(5)). A bench bracket belongs in a stud center, in masonry with the anchors the maker names, or on a ledger board screwed into at least two studs. A fixed frame such as the Lifetime's is built around 16-inch spacing; separate brackets such as VIVO's can be placed where your studs are. How to plan it is in the guide on how to install a wall-mounted folding table, and the stud spacing question explains how to measure your wall.

Verdict

The Stowaway's 44 x 22 inch solid wood top and 300 lb rating are strong on paper, but Ryobi's page does not say how or where it mounts. If you want that information before you drill, the VIVO 43 x 18 is our pick; if you want legs and storage on 16-inch studs, the Lifetime 80421. All garage benches are compared in the garage workbench guide, heavier options under heavy-duty tables, and a top sized to your wall in the DIY folding workbench guide.

Questions people ask

How much weight does the Ryobi Stowaway workbench hold?

Ryobi rates it up to 300 lb on its product page. The page does not say how the bench is mounted or which wall that figure assumes. Treat it like every load rating: the maker's figure on a sound wall with the intended mounting. What usually limits the load is the fixing – the studs, anchors and the leverage of a 22-inch-deep top.

Is the Ryobi Stowaway sold on Amazon?

We found it on Ryobi's own site, not in our Amazon data, so we cannot link it here. The benches below are on Amazon. The closest in size are the unbranded 47 x 22 inch bench and the TORACK at 47.25 x 22.75 inches, both with seller data only.

What is a Ryobi Murphy work table?

We found no Ryobi product with that name; Ryobi's fold-up bench is the Stowaway Wall Mounted Workbench. It is a workbench, not a Murphy table in the furniture sense, which is a fold-down dining table in a cabinet or panel.

Sources

Keep reading

Who writes here

wallmountedfoldingtable.com Editorial Team

Fold-down tables, desks & workbenches

We are the editorial team at wallmountedfoldingtable.com. We compare maker spec sheets, manuals, retailer data, building codes and anchor data for wall-mounted folding tables and turn them into plain-English advice – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests or load tests, and we say so openly.

  • Maker specs, manuals & codes compared
  • Sources on every page
  • No lab tests – stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we research