Buying guide
Stainless Steel and Outdoor Wall Folding Tables (Patio, Grill, Food Truck)
Stainless steel fold-down tables are the wall tables sold for patios, grill corners and food trucks, and the three we found are all 304 stainless with seller data only. The CYGJSYEA 39.4 x 19.7 inch table is the deepest; plan with the lower of its two load figures. Near the coast or salted roads, 304 is not the most corrosion-resistant grade, and most indoor tables are not meant for outdoor use at all.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The short version
For an outdoor fold-down table, choose stainless steel and a masonry wall. The CYGJSYEA tables (39.4 x 15.7 or 19.7 in) and the Lumclaw 23.6 x 16 in shelf are 304 stainless and listed for indoor and outdoor use; CYGJSYEA gives 110 lb in one place and 220 lb in another. Near salt air, molybdenum-bearing Type 316 resists corrosion better, according to the molybdenum industry association IMOA.
Why there is no single pick on this page
The stainless fold-down tables on Amazon come from sellers without a maker spec sheet we could read, and one of them contradicts itself on load. We recommend a product only where a maker stands behind the data. So this page compares the three options by size and stated load, marks them “Seller data only”, and puts the emphasis on what decides an outdoor table: the steel grade, the wall and the fixings.
If you are looking for the deepest top, the CYGJSYEA 39.4 x 19.7 in stainless table* is the one to look at first.
The stainless tables compared
| Comparison | Seller data onlyCYGJSYEA Stainless 39.4 x 19.7 | Seller data onlyCYGJSYEA Stainless 39.4 x 15.7 | Seller data onlyLumclaw Stainless 23.6 x 16 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Stainless top on folding brackets (listing) | Stainless top on folding brackets (listing) | Stainless shelf on two 14-in folding brackets (listing) |
| Top size | 39.4 x 19.7 in (listing) | 39.4 x 15.7 in (listing) | 23.6 x 16 in (listing) |
| Load rating (as stated) | 110 lb in the specs, 220 lb in the bullets (listing) | 110 lb in the specs, 220 lb in the bullets (listing) | 154 lb (70 kg) max (listing) |
| Mounting (as stated) | Wall type not stated (listing) | Wall type not stated (listing) | Nine expansion screws included; wall type not stated (listing) |
| Folded depth | – | – | – |
| Best for | Outdoor prep or work surfaces that need more depth than a narrow ledge | A wipe-clean prep or potting ledge on a patio, in a garage or a laundry room | A small fold-down landing shelf beside a grill, a service window or a utility sink |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
| Table | Top | Steel | Load as stated | Outdoor use |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CYGJSYEA 39.4 x 19.7 in | one-piece, 1.1 in thick | 304 (listing) | 110 lb in specs, 220 lb in bullets | indoor and outdoor (listing) |
| CYGJSYEA 39.4 x 15.7 in | same model, narrower | 304 (listing) | 110 lb in specs, 220 lb in bullets | indoor and outdoor (listing) |
| Lumclaw 23.6 x 16 in | single sheet on two 14-in brackets | 304 (listing) | 70 kg (154 lb) max | indoors or outdoors (listing) |
The tables one by one
CYGJSYEA 39.4 x 19.7 in: the deep one
At 19.7 inches deep, this is the stainless top with room for a cutting board and a tray side by side. According to the listing, the top is cut, bent and thickened from one sheet of 304 stainless, the edges are polished, and the top folds down by pressing a release arm. The listing names a drill, pliers, a screwdriver and a wrench as tools and recommends two people for assembly. The load is the weak spot of the data: the specification table says 110 lb, the bullet points say 220 lb. Plan with 110 lb, and with less if your wall fixing is the limit.
CYGJSYEA 39.4 x 15.7 in: same table, one plate deep
The narrower version has the same model number in its listing and the same two load figures. At 15.7 inches it suits a landing shelf next to a grill or a potting ledge rather than a place to eat.
Lumclaw 23.6 x 16 in: a compact landing shelf
Lumclaw sells its shelf for food trucks, kitchens, garages, patios and gardens. The listing describes one sheet of 304 stainless on two 14-inch folding brackets and includes nine expansion screws and a screwdriver. It states a 70 kg (154 lb) maximum and warns to ensure proper wall mounting. At 23.6 x 16 inches it is a shelf, not a table for two.
Steel grade: what 304 means outdoors
All three tables are Type 304 stainless steel, according to their listings. The International Molybdenum Association (IMOA), the industry body for the metal added to Type 316, describes 316 and the duplex grade 2205 as more highly alloyed than 304 and states that molybdenum increases resistance to corrosion caused by deicing salts, coastal atmosphere and pollution. In an IMOA case study, railing sections near the shore that were splashed at high tide showed corrosion staining.
What that means for a fold-down table:
- Sheltered patio, inland: 304 is the grade on offer, and it is what the sellers sell for outdoor use.
- Near the coast or next to a salted driveway: corrosion staining is the risk IMOA describes, so check and clean the surface more often. None of the fold-down tables we found is offered in 316.
Walls and fixings outside
An outdoor table hangs on the same physics as an indoor one: the open top is a lever that pulls hardest on the upper screws. Outside, the wall is usually brick, block or concrete, or siding over a wood-stud wall.
Brick, block and concrete. Drill into the face of the brick or block, not into the mortar joints, and use anchors rated for the base material. Hollow block holds far less than grouted block or poured concrete: Simpson Strong-Tie's data sheet for its 1/4-inch Titen Turbo 316 stainless concrete screw lists 0.8 kN (about 180 lb) allowable tension in the face of hollow block against 2.2 kN (about 495 lb) in grouted block. The details are in the question on mounting a table on concrete or cinder block. Simpson's screw in that sheet is itself made of Type 316 stainless steel.
Siding over studs. Behind vinyl or wood siding there is usually a stud wall. Wood studs are 16 or 24 inches on center, depending on stud size and load (IRC Table R602.3(5)), so locate the studs and fix the brackets into them or into a ledger board across them. Ask a contractor how to seal the holes through the siding.
Vehicle walls. Food trucks and trailers have their own wall construction. We found no maker data for fixing these tables to a vehicle; ask the vehicle builder first.
Build your own with stainless brackets
If none of the tops fits, stainless folding brackets carry a top of your choice. The CLT 24 in stainless bracket pair* suits a 20- to 24-inch top and tells buyers to mount on studs; the 12 in stainless pair* fits a shallow ledge. Neither listing says whether its load figure is per bracket or per pair. For an outdoor top, pick a material made for weather. The folding shelf brackets guide explains lengths and spacing.
What to check before you buy
- Outdoor use stated. Many wall tables are indoor-only; Mount-It!, for example, says so in its manual.
- The lower load figure. If a listing gives two, plan with the lower – and read weight capacity for why the wall usually limits first.
- Depth. 15.7 to 16 inches is a landing shelf; 19.7 inches is a small prep table.
- Fixings for your wall. Expansion screws in a bag suit masonry, not siding; match anchors to the base material.
- Permission. On a rented balcony or a shared wall, ask before you drill.
Typical mistakes
- Taking an indoor table outside. Makers like Mount-It! exclude outdoor use in their manuals.
- Drilling into the mortar joint. It is the weakest part of a brick or block wall.
- Trusting the higher of two load figures. 220 lb in a bullet point does not cancel 110 lb in the specifications.
Table picker
Question 1 of 4
Where will the table go?
Verdict
For an outdoor fold-down table, the CYGJSYEA 39.4 x 19.7 inch stainless top is the deepest option we found, with seller data only: plan with 110 lb and mount it into masonry or studs. The Lumclaw shelf is the compact choice for a grill corner or a service hatch. If you need more load with maker data, the heavy-duty guide compares the rated tables, and all tables are side by side in the comparison of wall-mounted folding tables. The homepage has the overview by room.
Questions people ask
Can I use a regular wall-mounted folding table outdoors?
Usually not. Mount-It!'s manual for its MI-7993 table says the product is for indoor use only and that outdoor use could lead to product failure and injury. Choose a table whose listing or manual names outdoor use, such as the stainless CYGJSYEA and Lumclaw tables, and mount it to a sound masonry or stud wall.
Is 304 stainless steel good enough outdoors?
For many sheltered patios it is the usual choice, and all three outdoor tables we found are 304. Near the sea or roads treated with deicing salt, the molybdenum industry association IMOA notes that molybdenum, which Type 316 contains, increases resistance to corrosion from deicing salts, coastal air and pollution. None of the fold-down tables we found is sold in 316.
How much weight can a stainless fold-down table hold?
Only what the seller states, on a wall that suits the fixings. The CYGJSYEA listing gives 110 lb in its specifications and 220 lb in its bullet points; plan with 110 lb. Lumclaw states 70 kg (154 lb) for its 23.6 x 16 inch shelf. Neither names a wall type, so the anchors in your wall decide.
Can I mount a stainless fold-down table on a food truck wall?
Lumclaw names food trucks as a use for its shelf, but its listing gives no instructions for vehicle walls, and we found no maker data for that case. Vehicle walls are built differently from house walls. Ask the vehicle builder or an upfitter which fixings the wall can take before you drill.
Sources
- IMOA (International Molybdenum Association): Railings, walkways, platforms and stairs in corrosive environments (Type 304 vs 316, molybdenum and chlorides)
- IMOA: Stainless steel on exterior walls (molybdenum and deicing salts, coastal air)
- Mount-It!: MI-7993 installation manual (PDF, indoor use only)
- Simpson Strong-Tie: Titen Turbo 316 stainless concrete screw anchor, technical data sheet (concrete and CMU)
- 2012 Seattle Residential Code, Chapter 6 (IRC text), Table R602.3(5) Size, height and spacing of wood studs
Keep reading
- Question & answerHow Do I Mount a Folding Table on Concrete or Cinder Block?Mounting a fold-down table on concrete or cinder block: which anchors, why hollow block holds far less than solid concrete, and why mortar joints are off limits.
- ExplainerWeight capacityHow much weight a wall-mounted folding table can hold: maker load ratings from 33 to 150 lb, what the wall and anchors add, and why leverage limits the load.
- Buying guideHeavy dutyHeavy-duty wall-mounted folding tables rated 100 lb and more, sorted by who stands behind the figure – maker, spec sheet or listing – and the wall each assumes.
- Buying guideFolding bracketsFolding shelf brackets for a DIY fold-down table or workbench: which arm length fits your top, how to read load ratings, and how to land every bracket on a stud.
- ComparisonAll tables comparedThe best wall-mounted folding tables, desks and workbenches side by side: top size, load rating with the mounting it assumes, folded depth and maker sources.
Who writes here
wallmountedfoldingtable.com Editorial Team
Fold-down tables, desks & workbenches
We are the editorial team at wallmountedfoldingtable.com. We compare maker spec sheets, manuals, retailer data, building codes and anchor data for wall-mounted folding tables and turn them into plain-English advice – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests or load tests, and we say so openly.
- Maker specs, manuals & codes compared
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint