Buying guide
Murphy Desks: Wall-Mounted Fold-Out Desks With Cabinet and Monitor Storage
A Murphy desk is a shallow wall cabinet whose front folds out into a desk, with shelves behind it. Of the four on Amazon in our data, the HOMCOM convertible desk states the most: 110 lb on the desktop, a 7.7-inch closed depth and an anti-tip design, per its listing. None has a maker spec sheet we could read, and none states whether a monitor fits inside when closed.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The short version
For a Murphy desk with room to work, look at the HOMCOM convertible desk: 38.5 x 20 inches, 110 lb on the desktop and 7.7 inches deep closed, per its listing. Tangkula and YUSING state only 44 lb; YUSING excludes plasterboard walls. No listing gives the inside depth, so measure your monitor before you count on closing the cabinet over it. Anchor every unit into studs.

Why there is no sidebar pick on this page
We recommend a product only where we could read the maker's own data. For the Murphy desks on Amazon we found none, so every desk below is marked “Seller data only” and compared by what its listing states. If a plain fold-down top is enough for you, the guide to wall-mounted folding desks has the one desk-capable table with maker data. This page is for the cabinet type: a desk that closes into a shelf unit on the wall.
If you want the listing with the most complete data, start with the HOMCOM convertible Murphy desk*.
What a Murphy desk is – and what it is not
A Murphy desk is a wall cabinet with a hinged front. Opened, the front becomes the desktop and the cabinet behind it holds shelves, cubbies or a pegboard; closed, the desk is a flat cabinet front, often with a chalkboard. It borrows the name from the Murphy bed, like the Murphy table. The difference: a Murphy table is a fold-down table, usually for dining, that closes into a wall cabinet or flat panel; a fold-out desk with a cabinet is a Murphy desk. How all the designs differ is shown on the page about types of wall-mounted folding tables, and the Murphy table guide covers the dining version.
The Murphy desks compared
| Comparison | Seller data onlyHOMCOM Convertible Desk | Seller data onlyTangkula “Murphy Table” Desk | Seller data onlyYUSING Desk with Shelves | Seller data onlyArmocity Murphy Desk |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Convertible cabinet desk (listing) | Foldable wall desk (listing) | Wall cabinet with fold-down desk (listing) | Shelf cabinet with fold-out desk (listing) |
| Top size | 38.5 W x 20 D in desk; 60.25 in tall (listing) | – | Overall 23.5 x 30.5 x 59.5 in (listing) | Not stated; cabinet about 20 x 7.9 x 61 in (listing) |
| Load rating (as stated) | 110 lb on the desktop (listing) | – | 44 lb open desk, 4.4 lb per cubby (listing) | – |
| Mounting (as stated) | Wall cabinet with leg base; wall type not named (listing) | – | Solid walls only; not plasterboard, hollow brick or partition walls (listing) | Must be anchored to the wall (listing) |
| Folded depth | 7.7 in (listing) | – | 6.5 in (listing) | About 7.9 in (listing) |
| Best for | Small rooms that need a desk plus shelves on the wall | Anyone who searched “Murphy table” but actually needs a small desk | A bedroom or hallway desk on a solid wall that should close into a shelf unit | A craft, sewing or homework corner that needs shelves and power on the wall |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
| Desk (listing data) | Size | Desk load | Closed depth | Wall note in the listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HOMCOM convertible, model 836-296WT | 38.5 W x 20 D x 60.25 H in | 110 lb | 7.7 in | anti-tipping design |
| Tangkula foldable desk, AM2567HM | about 24 in deep open (listing) | 44 lb | not stated | none |
| YUSING desk with shelves | 23.5 x 30.5 x 59.5 in overall | 44 lb, 4.4 lb per cubby | 6.5 in | solid walls only; not plasterboard, hollow brick or partition walls |
| Armocity desk with outlets | about 20 x 7.9 x 61 in | not stated | about 7.9 in | must be anchored to the wall |
The Tangkula listing gives several dimensions that contradict each other; check the size drawing in the listing before you order.
The desks one by one
HOMCOM convertible desk: the most data
The listing names model 836-296WT, made by Aosom LLC. It describes a 38.5 x 20 x 60.25 inch unit of P2-grade MDF with 0.6-inch panels, six upper compartments and three lower shelves, a chalkboard front and a desktop that supports up to 110 lb. Closed, it is 7.7 inches deep. The listing names a leg base, a top-to-bottom support structure and an anti-tipping design, and calls the desk suitable for dual monitors. Weigh that claim against the depth: at 20 inches, a monitor at the back edge sits right at the 20-inch minimum viewing distance OSHA recommends, with no room left for a keyboard in front of it. One screen and a laptop is the realistic setup. The unit weighs 46 lb by the listing, before you fill the shelves.
Tangkula foldable wall desk, sold as “Murphy table”
The Tangkula listing calls the product a “Murphy table”, but by its own description it is a foldable wall desk with a chalkboard, five shelves and hooks, made of P2 MDF. The desktop supports 44 lb when unfolded. That is enough for a laptop, papers and a lamp, not for a monitor arm with a heavy screen plus books. The listing's dimensions are inconsistent.
YUSING desk with shelves: the slimmest when closed
YUSING states 6.5 inches closed depth with a locking latch, two adjustable shelves, fixed cubbies and a cork board. The open desk holds 44 lb and each cubby 4.4 lb. The listing is the only one that says clearly which walls it needs: because of the product's own weight, it must go on solid walls and cannot be mounted on hollow bricks, plasterboard or partition walls. In a drywall house, that means into studs – or a different desk.
Armocity desk with outlets: power at the desk
Armocity sells a tall, slim shelf cabinet with a fold-out desk, built-in outlets and USB ports, a chalkboard and a height-adjustable shelf under the desktop. The listing names a leg base and says the unit must be anchored to the wall against tipping. It gives no desk load and no top size. It suits a craft or sewing corner; check the desk size before planning work on it.
Monitor storage and sit-stand: what the listings do not say
Searches for Murphy desks often ask for “monitor storage”. Of the desks in our data, none states the inside depth of the cabinet, so none confirms that a monitor stays on the desk when you close it. Closed depths of 6.5 to 7.9 inches, measured outside, leave little room. Measure your monitor without its stand, or mount it on a wall arm above the cabinet. We found no wall-mounted fold-away sit-stand desk with an electric lift in our Amazon data.
What to check before you buy
The wall. A Murphy desk carries its own weight and the contents of its shelves all the time, not only when it is open. The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission's Anchor It! campaign says anchoring furniture with drawers, doors and shelves to the wall prevents tip-over injuries and deaths. For a hanging cabinet, that means wood studs or a ledger board across them. Wood studs are 16 or 24 inches on center, depending on stud size and load (IRC Table R602.3(5)); measure before you drill. Hollow-wall anchors carry only a fraction of their headline figure: TOGGLER's sheet notes that industry standards recommend one quarter of the ultimate test load.
The desk load. 44 lb is a laptop desk; 110 lb (HOMCOM, listing) leaves room for a monitor. All figures are seller data.
Depth for your screen. OSHA asks for a monitor directly in front of you, at least 20 inches away, and legroom under the desk of generally 20 to 28 inches in height.
Height. For seated work, the desktop belongs at about 29 to 30 inches; the 2010 ADA Standards set 28 to 34 inches for work surfaces. On a cabinet desk, the hinge line sets the desk height, so mark it before you drill. The guide to mounting height shows how.
Installation. The steps from stud finder to level line are in the guide on how to install a wall-mounted folding table.
Typical mistakes
- Searching “Murphy table” for a desk. The terms mean different furniture.
- Counting on monitor storage without measuring. None of the listings gives the inside depth.
- Hanging a loaded cabinet on drywall anchors. YUSING excludes plasterboard outright.
- Overloading a 44 lb desktop. A monitor, a printer and books add up fast.
Table picker
Question 1 of 4
Where will the table go?
Verdict
If you want a Murphy desk with the most complete listing data, the HOMCOM convertible desk is the one to check first: 110 lb on the desktop, 7.7 inches closed, anti-tip design. For a slim shelf unit with a light desk, YUSING closes to 6.5 inches – on a solid wall only. Every option here is seller data only, so plan the wall fixing yourself and keep within the stated load. Plain fold-down desks are compared in the wall-mounted folding desk guide, cabinets with a fold-down top for other rooms under tables with storage, and the homepage has the overview by room.
Questions people ask
Do they make Murphy desks?
Yes. Amazon sells several wall cabinets whose front folds down into a desk, for example from HOMCOM, Tangkula, YUSING and Armocity. They differ a lot in what the listings state: HOMCOM gives 110 lb on the desktop, Tangkula and YUSING 44 lb, and Armocity no figure. We found no maker spec sheet for any of them.
Can I store a monitor inside a Murphy desk?
Only if the cabinet is deep enough inside, and none of the listings we read states the inside depth. The closed depths are 6.5 inches (YUSING), 7.7 inches (HOMCOM) and about 7.9 inches (Armocity), measured outside. Measure your monitor without its stand, or plan a wall arm above the desk instead.
Is a Murphy desk the same as a Murphy table?
No. A Murphy table is a fold-down table, usually for dining, that closes into a wall cabinet or flat panel, named after the Murphy bed. A fold-out desk with a cabinet is a Murphy desk. Many listings call desks “Murphy table”, such as the Tangkula foldable wall desk.
Can a Murphy desk hang on drywall?
Not on drywall anchors alone. The YUSING listing says its desk must go on solid walls and not on plasterboard, hollow brick or partition walls, and Armocity says its unit must be anchored to the wall. Fix the cabinet into wood studs or a ledger board across them, as the installation guide shows.
Sources
- OSHA: Computer workstations eTool – Desks (monitor at least 20 inches away, leg clearance)
- U.S. CPSC: Anchor It! campaign (anchoring furniture with drawers, doors and shelves)
- U.S. Access Board: 2010 ADA Standards, 902.3 Height of dining and work surfaces
- 2012 Seattle Residential Code, Chapter 6 (IRC text), Table R602.3(5) Size, height and spacing of wood studs
- TOGGLER: SNAPTOGGLE technical data sheet (ultimate loads, 1/4 working-load note)
Keep reading
- Buying guideFolding desksWall-mounted folding desks compared: plain fold-down tops and cabinet desks with storage, the right height and depth for a laptop or monitor, and how to mount one.
- ComparisonTable types comparedFour wall-table designs compared – folding brackets, drop-leaf, Murphy table and fold-out legs – plus how a gateleg table differs, with what carries the load.
- Buying guideMurphy tablesWhat a Murphy table is, why most Amazon listings with the name are desks, and which wall-mounted fold-down table to buy for a kitchen or dining nook instead.
- ExplainerMounting heightWall-mounted folding table height: 28 to 34 inches for dining and desks per ADA 902.3, IKEA's bar heights, and why laundry height has no official number.
- How-toHow to installInstall a wall-mounted folding table safely: find the studs, mark the top edge, drill per the manual and use a ledger board when the brackets miss a stud.
Who writes here
wallmountedfoldingtable.com Editorial Team
Fold-down tables, desks & workbenches
We are the editorial team at wallmountedfoldingtable.com. We compare maker spec sheets, manuals, retailer data, building codes and anchor data for wall-mounted folding tables and turn them into plain-English advice – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests or load tests, and we say so openly.
- Maker specs, manuals & codes compared
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint