Buying guide
Wall-Mounted Folding Bar Tables and Counter-Height Ledges
A wall-mounted folding bar table is an ordinary fold-down top mounted higher: IKEA puts the top edge of its NORBERG at about 37⅜ or 41¾ inches for bar use, depending on the stool. Our pick is the COSTWAY drop-leaf, which Costway lists for bar-table use and lets you fix at any height; for a long, shallow ledge, the 45-inch Mount-It! or a 47-inch pine top fit.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The short version
Measure your bar stools first: IKEA gives a top edge of about 37⅜ or 41¾ inches for bar use, depending on the seat height. Then pick a top: the COSTWAY drop-leaf (31.5 x 23.5 in, 66 lb per Costway, bar use named) or a long ledge such as the Mount-It! 45 x 15 (33 lb per Mount-It!). Screw it into studs or a ledger board.

Our pick for a fold-down bar spot
COSTWAY Drop-Leaf 31.5 x 23.5
A drop-leaf top deep enough for two place settings that folds to 3 inches against the wall.
Why here: Costway names bar-table use and says the table can be fixed to the wall at any level – the only maker in our data that does both.
Best for: Small kitchens and studios where two people eat or work at the wall
- 23.5 in deep when open – room for two plates facing each other
- Folded size 31.5 x 21 x 3.0 in according to Costway
- Two ways to fold: drop one leaf or both
- Maker states a 66 lb maximum load
- Costway does not say which wall or fasteners the 66 lb rating assumes
- The supplied expansion screws are generic – plan your own fasteners for studs or masonry
- MDF top: wipe spills, do not leave it wet
- Type
- Drop-leaf top on a wooden support
- Top size
- 31.5 x 23.5 in (open)
- Folded depth
- 3.0 in (Costway)
- Load rating
- 66 lb max (Costway)
- Mounting
- Hinges and screws; studs not mentioned
- Material
- P2 MDF, pine, metal hinges
A bar table on the wall is not a special product. It is a fold-down top whose brackets sit higher. Costway lists its drop-leaf table as a computer table, dining table, dressing table and “bar table”, and says it can be fixed to the wall “at any level you want”. Open, it is 31.5 x 23.5 inches; folded, 31.5 x 21 x 3.0 inches. Costway states 66 lb, without naming a wall. With one leaf down, it becomes a shallower ledge – useful when the stools need room behind them.
Which bar top for which wall?
Pick by situation
If you two people should sit at a bar spot that also works as a small table → COSTWAY Drop-Leaf 31.5 x 23.5
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a long, light ledge under a window or along a kitchen wall → Mount-It! Drop Down 45 x 15
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want solid pine and a 47-inch run → Tianman 47 x 14 Pine · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you first want to settle the height
Bar tops compared
| Comparison | Our pick for twoCOSTWAY Drop-Leaf 31.5 x 23.5 | 45-inch topMount-It! Drop Down 45 x 15 | Seller data onlyTianman 47 x 14 Pine | Seller data only27.5 x 15.7 Stainless Bracket |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Drop-leaf top on a wooden support | Top on folding steel brackets | Drop-leaf wall table (listing) | Top on folding brackets (listing) |
| Top size | 31.5 x 23.5 in (open) | 45 x 15 in or 30 x 15 in | 47 x 14 in (listing) | 27.5 x 15.7 in (listing) |
| Load rating (as stated) | 66 lb max (Costway) | 33 lb (Mount-It! page) | – | – |
| Mounting (as stated) | Hinges and screws; studs not mentioned | Hardware included; wall type not specified | – | – |
| Folded depth | 3.0 in (Costway) | – | – | – |
| Best for | Small kitchens and studios where two people eat or work at the wall | Long, light-duty surfaces: folding laundry, a bar ledge or a hobby shelf | A long bar ledge or a narrow workbench in an industrial look | Narrow gaps between machines and a door |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
| Top | Size | Bar use named by | Load figure | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| COSTWAY drop-leaf | 31.5 x 23.5 in | Costway | 66 lb, no wall named | maker |
| Mount-It! MI-7993 | 45 or 30 x 15 in | not named | 33 lb | maker |
| Tianman pine | 47 x 14 in | listing (“family bar stand”) | not stated | listing |
| White 27.5 x 15.7 in | 27.5 x 15.7 in | listing (“bar, dining”) | not stated | listing |
The tops one by one
COSTWAY 31.5 x 23.5 in – bar and table in one
The deepest option. At bar height it holds plates and glasses for two; folded, it stands 3.0 inches off the wall. Weak points: MDF top, the 66 lb figure names no wall, and Costway's answer on its product page only says that expansion screws are used. Put your own screws into studs or a ledger board. More on the design under wall-mounted drop-leaf tables.
Mount-It! 45 x 15 in – the long, light ledge
Mount-It! sells the MI-7993 with a three-piece top: 45 inches wide with all three pieces, 30 inches with two. Mount-It! lists kitchens among the rooms and does not mention bar use. Its own page states 33 lb, so treat it as a ledge for drinks and a laptop, not a place to lean on with your full weight. Mount-It! drop-down table*.
Tianman 47 x 14 in pine – solid wood, seller data
According to the listing, a solid pine top 47 inches long, 14 inches deep and 1.2 inches thick, on powder-coated steel brackets with a fingertip release; the listing names a “family bar stand” among its uses. Amazon files it under bar tables. No load figure is given, so plan it as light duty.
White 27.5 x 15.7 in on stainless brackets – the short bar
The listing says to mount it “at your preferred height for bar, dining, or even as a kids' table” and names 304 stainless brackets, but gives no load figure and no wall type. It fits a narrow gap beside a door or fridge.
Bar height: start with the stool
IKEA gives two bar heights for its NORBERG wall table: a top edge at about 37⅜ or about 41¾ inches, depending on the seat height of the bar chair. Its table height for the same product is about 29⅛ inches. These are IKEA's figures, not a code requirement. Measure the seat height of the stools you own, then choose the height that leaves room for your knees under the top.
A bar ledge is not a replacement for a seated table. The 2010 ADA Standards require dining and work surfaces to be 28 to 34 inches above the floor (902.3), so a bar-height top is out of reach for anyone who sits low or uses a wheelchair. If the wall table is the only table in the room, the guide to mounting height helps you weigh both heights.
Mounting a bar table safely
At bar height people lean on the top, put elbows on the front edge and pull themselves onto the stool. That front-edge load matters: the deeper the top and the further out the load, the harder the top screws are pulled out of the wall. Three rules follow:
- Studs or a ledger. Wood studs are 16 or 24 inches on center (IRC Table R602.3(5)). Put the bracket screws into stud centers, or screw a ledger board into at least two studs and mount the brackets on it. The check below shows whether your top and bracket spacing can reach studs.
- Use the lower figure. A load rating is the maker's or seller's figure on a sound wall. Mount-It!'s 33 lb is what we would plan with on that model.
- Check what hangs below. At bar height, the folded top hangs over the area where outlets and switches often sit on a kitchen wall. Mark them before you drill.
Stud span check
Enter the width of the top and the stud spacing of your wall.
Depending on where you place it, the top spans 2 to 3 studs.
Pure geometry from the stud spacing. Find the actual studs in your wall with a stud finder before drilling.
Step-by-step instructions are in the guide on how to install a wall-mounted folding table; for masonry, see mounting on concrete or cinder block.
Typical mistakes
- Mounting at a “standard bar height” before buying the stools. IKEA alone gives two heights.
- Choosing a 15-inch ledge for meals. It holds drinks and a laptop; plates for two need a deeper top such as the Costway.
- Hollow-wall anchors only. People lean on bar tops. Use studs or a ledger board; the reasons are on the page about drywall without studs.
Table picker
Question 1 of 4
Where will the table go?
Verdict
For a bar spot that also works as a small table, take the COSTWAY drop-leaf and mount it at the height your stools need. For a long drinks or laptop ledge, the Mount-It! at 45 inches is the option with maker data – rated at only 33 lb. More fold-down tables for the kitchen are on the kitchen and dining page, all models side by side in the big comparison, and the basics on the homepage.
Questions people ask
How high should a wall-mounted bar table be?
Set it by your stools. IKEA gives two bar heights for its NORBERG wall table: a top edge at about 37⅜ inches or about 41¾ inches, depending on the seat height of the bar chair. These are IKEA's figures for one product, not a code. Both sit above the 28 to 34 inches the 2010 ADA Standards set for dining surfaces.
Can any fold-down table be used as a bar table?
Most can, because the height comes from where you mount the brackets, not from the table. Costway says its drop-leaf table can be fixed to the wall at any level and names bar-table use. Check that the folded top does not hang over an outlet or switch at the new height, and that the brackets still reach studs.
How deep should a wall bar ledge be?
There is no standard. In our data, tops sold for bar use run from 14 inches deep (Tianman pine) to 23.5 inches (Costway). A shallow ledge leaves more room to walk behind the stools; a deeper top holds plates. Remember that the deeper the top and the further out people lean, the harder the top screws are pulled out of the wall.
Sources
- IKEA: NORBERG wall-mounted drop-leaf table (table and bar mounting heights)
- Costway: 31.5 x 23.5 Inch Folding Wall Mounted Table for Small Spaces (maker page, uses and mounting)
- Mount-It!: Wall Mounted Drop Leaf Table / Workbench, MI-7993 (maker page)
- U.S. Access Board: 2010 ADA Standards, 902.3 Height of dining and work surfaces
- 2012 Seattle Residential Code, Chapter 6 (IRC text), Table R602.3(5) Size, height and spacing of wood studs
Keep reading
- ExplainerMounting heightWall-mounted folding table height: 28 to 34 inches for dining and desks per ADA 902.3, IKEA's bar heights, and why laundry height has no official number.
- Buying guideDrop-leaf tablesWall-mounted drop-leaf tables compared: how the fixed strip and hinged leaf work, which model seats two, folded depth, load ratings and how to mount one safely.
- Buying guideKitchen & diningWall-mounted folding dining and kitchen tables compared: which top is deep enough for two, how far it folds, what the load rating assumes and how to mount it.
- How-toHow to installInstall a wall-mounted folding table safely: find the studs, mark the top edge, drill per the manual and use a ledger board when the brackets miss a stud.
- ComparisonAll tables comparedThe best wall-mounted folding tables, desks and workbenches side by side: top size, load rating with the mounting it assumes, folded depth and maker sources.
Who writes here
wallmountedfoldingtable.com Editorial Team
Fold-down tables, desks & workbenches
We are the editorial team at wallmountedfoldingtable.com. We compare maker spec sheets, manuals, retailer data, building codes and anchor data for wall-mounted folding tables and turn them into plain-English advice – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests or load tests, and we say so openly.
- Maker specs, manuals & codes compared
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint